From my sister on my “Favorite Chair” post.  “I love that chair. Are you dying? That is sweet and all but that is the best chair in your house. It needs to be in your will to go directly to me. Seriously, what is up?”

I answered her flippantly, because that’s what we do, but here’s the real answer.  “Yes, dear sister, I’m dying.  If our family genes are any indicator, I’ll probably be 90 something when it actually happens.  Hopefully I’ll go quick and not lie around in a hospital bed beeping and peeing on myself.  But, on the off chance that I do end up in that hospital bed, I’m pretty sure I won’t be thinking, “hmmm, I wish I hadn’t sold that gold chair back in ’12 and given the money away.”

Someone said, “If it were your child dying of hunger, what would you do to save her?”  Well, I’d sell a lot more than my favorite chair.  Remember that scene in Schindler’s List, the one at the very end when Schindler is about to get in his car and make a break for it?  He’s crying and saying “I could have saved 5 more if I’d sold this car!  I could have saved two more with my wedding ring!”  I’ve always thought, “I hope I’d be like that, if I’d lived when there were people dying and I could have done something to save them.”  Well, it just occurred to me…I do.  Each generation has their holocaust and their chance to do something about it.  The way I see it, I can sell stuff and give the money away…and hopefully someone else will sell their stuff to give the money away, and then I can buy it and feel good about it. 🙂

Every day, almost 16,000 children die from hunger-related causes. That’s one child every five seconds. 

Luke 12:33 Sell your possessions, and give the money to the poor. Make yourselves wallets that don’t wear out-a dependable treasure in heaven, where no thief can get close and no moth can destroy anything.
